Recent News > 2016 Canadian Tourism Award Winners

2016 Canadian Tourism Award Winners

posted on December 1,
2016 Canadian Tourism Awards Winners 
GATINEAU, QC  November 30, - Fourteen organizations and individuals were honoured tonight by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) as recipients of the 2016 Canadian Tourism Awards, presented by The Toronto Star.
The awards were presented earlier this evening in a ceremony at the Hilton Lac-Leamy in Gatineau, Quebec. 
"Tonight's Canadian Tourism Awards have showcased our diverse industry to the fullest. Myself and everyone at TIAC are honoured to recognize the outstanding innovation, dedication and expertise all of our nominees and winners have put forward. Recognizing and celebrating these accomplishments is veryimportant, as these industry successes ensure that Canada continues to be seen as a world-class destination," said TIAC President and CEO, Charlotte Bell.
The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.
The Winners are:
The Air Canada Business of the Year Award
  • Brentwood Bay Resort and Spa, Victoria, BC
The Visa Canada Innovator of the Year Award
  • Headwaters Parade of Horses, Mono, ON

The VIA Rail Canada Community Outreach Award 
  • Great Wolf Lodge, Niagara Falls, ON
The Transat AT Sustainable Tourism Award 
  • Eagle Wing Tours Ltd., Victoria, BC
The Parks Canada National Cultural Tourism Award 
  • Fort William Historical Park, Thunder Bay, ON
The Aboriginal Tourism Association of Canada National Aboriginal (Indigenous) Cultural Tourism Award
  • Wanuskewin Heritage Park, Saskatoon, SK

The Brewster Travel Canada Adventure/Outdoor Award 
  • Churchill Wild, Churchill, MB

The Restaurants Canada Culinary Tourism Experience Award 
  • Alberta Culinary Tourism Alliance, Calgary, AB

The WestJet Social Media/Digital Marketing Initiative of the Year Award
  • "Paint the Town" contest Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's, NL

The Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award 
  • "Where Am I?" Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership, Toronto, ON

The Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award 
  • Experience PEI, Stratford, PE
The Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award 
  • Canadian Soccer Association: FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015, National

The Tourism HR Canada Tourism Employee of the Year Award 
  • Dan Cardinal, Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel, Saskatoon, SK
The Tourism Toronto Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Jack Robinson, CN Tower, Toronto, ON 
- 30 -
For more information, please contact:
Robert Taylor
Vice President, Public and Industry Affairs
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
[email protected]
t: 613-238-6251

About the Canadian Tourism Awards

The Canadian Tourism Awards were established in 2003 to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to honour those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer superior visitor experiences to travelers in Canada. Showcasing the nation's best tourism products, services and experiences, the Canadian Tourism Awards ceremony has become an annual highlight of the Tourism Congress, TIAC's annual convention. 

About the Tourism Industry Association of Canada

The Tourism Industry Association of Canada is the only national organization representing the full cross-section of Canada's $90 billion tourism industry. TIAC's members include air and passenger rail services, airport authorities, local and provincial destination authorities, hotels, attractions and tour operators.

TIAC Industry Patrons

Marriott International

© Tourism Industry Association of Canada   Site Map | Privacy Policy | Home
Powered by Exware Association Management