Featured Stories > TIAC Announces Recipients of 2012 Canadian Tourism Awards

TIAC Announces Recipients of 2012 Canadian Tourism Awards

posted on November 21, 2012

OTTAWA, November 20, 2012 - Twelve organizations and individuals were honoured tonight by the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) as recipients of the 2012 Canadian Tourism Awards, presented by The Toronto Star and Visa Canada. 

The awards were presented earlier this evening in a gala ceremony at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau.

"These outstanding organizations have demonstrated ingenuity, perseverance and determination on the path to success and are a testament to Canada's world-class tourism industry," said TIAC President and CEO David Goldstein.

"Not only have they excelled through their extraordinary vision and hard work, but these business leaders are also drivers of economic growth and job creation in Canada. The industry congratulates them on their success and on this outstanding achievement."

The Canadian Tourism Awards are presented annually by TIAC to recognize success, leadership and innovation in Canada's tourism industry, and to reward those people, places, organizations and events that have gone above and beyond to offer travellers superior tourism experiences in Canada.

The 2012 recipients are: (Note: Abridged biographies are available online at https://tiac.travel/2012_Finalists.html)

Air Canada Business of the Year Award

  • Capilano Suspension Bridge Park, North Vancouver, BC

Hilton Worldwide Small or Medium-sized Business of the Year Award

  • Au Diable Vert, Glen Sutton, Quebec

Deloitte Innovator of the Year Award

  • Nordik Spa-Nature, Chelsea, Quebec

Metro Toronto Convention Centre Event of the Year Award

  • Calgary Stampede, Calgary, Alberta

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year Award

  • Travel Alberta - Wintersport in Alberta

WestJet Social Media Initiative of the Year Award

  • Tourism Victoria - Escape Your Everyday Campaign

Parks Canada Sustainable Tourism Award

  • Maple Leaf Adventures, Victoria, British Columbia

National Cultural Tourism Award

  • Royal Canadian Pacific, Calgary, Alberta

CTHRC Award for Excellence in Human Resources Development

  • Great Wolf Lodge, Niagara Falls, Ontario

Delta Hotels and Resorts Traveller Experience Award

  • CMH Summer Adventures, Banff, Alberta

Via Rail Canada Community Service Award

  • Tourism Toronto's Relax, Recharge, Renew Program, Toronto, Ontario

InterContinental Hotels Group Employee of the Year Award

  • Jenny Wilkins, Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, Hamilton, Ontario

For more information, please contact:

David Lauer
Director, Communications
Tourism Industry Association of Canada
[email protected]
(t) 613-238-9400

About the Tourism Industry Association of Canada
The Tourism Industry Association of Canada is the only national organization representing the full cross-section of Canada's $78.8 billion tourism industry. TIAC's members include air and passenger rail services, airport authorities, local and provincial destination authorities, hotels, attractions and tour operators.

About the Canadian Tourism Awards

Showcasing the nation's best tourism products, services and experiences, the Canadian Tourism Awards ceremony has become an annual highlight of The Tourism Congress, TIAC's annual convention. Recipients are honoured in 12 categories from among hundreds of nominations.

© Tourism Industry Association of Canada   Site Map | Privacy Policy | Home
Powered by Exware Association Management