2016 Tourism Congress Program


Monday, November 28, 2016

08:00 - 17:00

Tourism Industry Meetings


Tuesday, November 29, 2016

07:30 - 08:30

Re-Connect Continental Breakfast

08:30 - 17:00

Tourism Congress Marketplace

Various exhibitors

08:30 - 09:30

TIAC Annual General Meeting

~ Open to TIAC Members only ~

09:30 - 10:00

Networking Break

(Refreshments provided)

10:00 – 11:00

Destination Canada Public Meeting

~ Open to General Public ~

11:00 - 11:15

Tourism Congress Opening Ceremony, presented by Air Canada

11:15 - 12:15

Leadership Report

TIAC President and CEO, Charlotte Bell and HLT Advisory’s Managing Director, Lyle Hall provide insights and an overview of the Canadian tourism industry over the past year.

Speaker: Charlotte Bell, President and CEO of TIAC

Speaker: Lyle Hall, Managing Director of HLT Advisory

12:15 - 13:45

Air Canada presents the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame Luncheon

Join TIAC’s celebration of this year’s Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame inductees and their outstanding contributions to our industry. Members of the Hall of Fame have helped shape our sector as a vibrant contributor to our economy and position Canada as a welcoming destination.

Guest Speaker: TBA

13:45 - 15:00

Session 1 - Taste of Place in Destination Marketing

Rebecca Mackenzie, Executive Director of the Culinary Tourism Alliance, moderates a panel discussion on the power of leveraging a destination’s “taste of place” to market food tourism experiences to visitors and ultimately drive growth in "in-destination" spending.

Moderator: Rebecca Mackenzie, Executive Director of the Ontario Culinary Tourism Alliance

Panelist: David Adames, Senior Director of Business Development for the Niagara Parks Commission (NPC)

Panelist: Patrizia Dri, Director of Member Services, Partnerships and Relationship Marketing for Tourisme Montréal

Panelist: TBD

15:00 – 15:45

Networking Break

(Refreshments provided)

15:45 – 16:45 

Session 2 - Tourism in Canada - Are We In The "Zone"? (Destination Canada)

A keynote presentation outlining Destination Canada’s in-market activities, campaigns and partnering opportunities.

Speaker: Jon Mamela, Senior Vice-President Marketing Strategy/Chief Marketing Officer for Destination Canada

17:30 - 19:30 

Chair's Opening Reception

~ Open to ALL delegates ~


Wednesday, November 30, 2016

7:45 – 08:45

Breakfast with Champions - Interactive Small Group Sessions

If you could ask an industry leader anything, what would it be? This is your chance to sit down for breakfast with the leading minds in Canadian tourism to discuss your priorities and learn how they tackle the issues facing their business such as market readiness, new product development and labour market management.

08:30 - 17:00

Tourism Congress Marketplace

Various exhibitors

08:45 - 10:00

Session 3 - TIAC's Industry Panel

Canadian tourism leaders discuss the latest industry successes and shortfalls and their impacts looking ahead.

10:00 – 10:45

Networking Break

(Refreshments provided)

10:45 – 12:00 

Session 4 - Generational Change: The Millennial Effect

Founder of Abacus Data, David Coletto, is a sought after speaker and adviser when it comes to managing generational change.  Using original data and his perspective as a Millennial, his talk will focus on what Millennials and generational change means for tourism in Canada. 

Speaker: David Coletto, CEO and Founding Partner of Abacus Data 

12:00 - 13:30

Keynote Address Luncheon

Guest Speaker: Arnold Witzig, Co-Founder of the Arctic Inspiration Prize

Guest Speaker: Patti Balsillie, Management Consultant and Founder of Patti Balsillie Management Consulting Inc.

13:30 -14:30

Session 5 - Labour & Industry

Industry experts discuss the susceptibility of the tourism industry to the fluctuation of rules governing the temporary foreign worker program and how to address the cause of labour shortages.

Moderator: Philip Mondor, President of Tourism HR Canada 

Panelist: Glen Squires, CEO of Pacrim Hospitality Services Inc.

Panelist: Jim Bence, CEO of Saskatchewan Hotel and Hospitality Association

Panelist: Victoria L. Behune, President and CEO of OTEC

14:30 15:00

Networking Break

(Refreshments provided)

15:00 - 16:00

Session 6 - After the Election: Connecting America

Experts discuss the new political reality post US election and the impact on Canadian tourism.

Moderator: Maryscott Greenwood, Principal at Dentons' Public Policy and Regulation practice, Co-Leader in the Advocacy and Government Affairs group (Washington, DC),  Senior Advisor to the Canadian-American Business Council

Panelist: Nik Nanos, Chairman of Nanos Research, Research Associate Professor at SUNY (UB), Global Fellow of Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (Washington, DC)

Panelist: The Honourable Perrin Beatty, PC, President and CEO of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce

16:00 - 17:15 

Session 7 - Green is the New Black: Profiting Through Sustainability

Can a certification in sustainability boost your brand power? Experts weigh in on the new norm of sustainable tourism.

Moderator: Jim Hudson, Executive Director of the Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation

Panelist: Angela Nagy, Co-Founder and CEO of GreenStep Solutions Inc.

Panelist: Rachel Dodds, Professor at the Ted Rogers School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Director of Tourism and Hospitality Research Institute at Ryerson University 

Panelist: Vivian Fleet, Sustainability Officer at Metro Toronto Convention Centre

18:30 - 22:00 

Canadian Tourism Awards

Reception 18:30 - 19:00
Awards & Dinner 19:00 - 22:00
Post Celebration 22:00


Platinum Sponsors

aircanada200x60.jpeg brewster_TC_200x60.png
Fairmont-Eng.png HILTON-WORLDWIDE-200x60.png
transat_200x60.jpg westjet_200x60.jpg


 Gold Sponsors

Rocky_Mountaineer_2.jpg  HLT_Logo_CMYK_Converted_-01.jpg


 Silver Sponsors


TIAC Industry Patrons

© Tourism Industry Association of Canada   Site Map | Privacy Policy | Home
Powered by Exware Association Management